Friday, November 13, 2020

Godwin Obaseki sworn in for 2nd term as Edo governor .

 The stage for fresh administration is now set in Edo state as Governor Godwin Obaseki and his deputy Philip Shaibu were inaugurated for the second term in office.


 The event currently ongoing at the tennis court of the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin city, Edo state capital, is graced by the creme de la creme from the Nigerian political fraternity. 

Leading the list of top dignitaries at the event are Governors Nyesom Wike of Rivers, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of Sokoto, Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta, Diri Duoye of Bayelsa and top members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) led by Prince Uche Secondus. 

President Muhammadu Buhari and vice president, Yemi Osinbajo, are also at the event though represented by the minister of health Osagie Ehanire and political aide, respectively. At exactly 12:15 pm, the governor and his deputy were sworn in by the state chief judge, Esther Edighen

The Edo election was held on Saturday, September 19, across all the 18 local government areas in the state. Governor Obaseki comfortably sailed to the shore of victory as he defeated the All Progressives Congress (APC)'s Osagie Ize-Iyamu and 12 other candidates. 

No comments:

Post a Comment